Shortly after we began dating, Todd took me to the Dairy Queen in BG. It was early in October, the Sun was shining, and I remember that it was unusually warm. To be honest, someone else occupied my thoughts that day. I had been asking myself why things had not worked out with that someone, trying to figure out what exactly had gone wrong. When we got to Dairy Queen, Todd asked me what flavor I wanted.  I told him to choose for me, thinking that the kind he chose would determine whether or not I would keep dating him. He brought back a plain vanilla one, on a sugar cone, saying that he thought vanilla was the perfect flavor; that you could dress it up if you wanted with sprinkles, nuts, syrup, or whipped cream, but it was pretty damn good just plain, too. He said that he had already decided that that’s the way he liked me too, just plain with no makeup, but he was sure I would dress up just as fine. Then I watched him lick his ice cream cone and that was all she wrote.